Spells of the Curtain

Trained in magic, new to court, and determined to go for greatness.

Orphaned commoner Edmath Donroi leaves his mage’s college behind, setting his sights on the imperial court. Serving the empire magically propels those who succeed into the public eye.
Separated from his old life and investigating a mysterious death tied to his lost parents, Edmath can’t rely on his magic alone to survive.
When the time comes will he kill, or die for the empire?

First in a series of shorter fantasy stories for readers of Brandon Sanderson, Steven Brust, and Guy Gavriel Kay.

Books

Book 1: Court Mage

Book 2: Battle Mage

Book 3: Winter Mage

Book 4: Garden Mage

Book 5: Traveling Mage